Lionel Messi wins Ballon d’Or over Ronaldo & Neymar


Barcelona forward has won the Ballon d’Or award for the world’s best player for the fifth time.

The 28-year-old Argentine had 41.33% of the vote, with Real Madrid forward (27.76%) second and Barca’s Neymar (7.86%) third.

Either Messi or Ronaldo, who became a three-time winner last year, have won the past eight awards.

United States midfielder Carli Lloyd, who scored a hat-trick in the World Cup final, won the women’s award.

England coach Mark Sampson was beaten to the women’s football coach of the year award by USA boss Jill Ellis.

Messi’s in numbers

  • 61 games, 52 goals and 26 assists.
  • A goal every 101 minutes and an assist every 202 minutes.
  • Best minutes-per-goal rate – 80 – of anyone scoring a minimum of 10 goals across Europe’s top five leagues during .
  • Directly involved in 49 goals in La Liga – 34 scored and 15 assists – which was the joint-most with Ronaldo in across the top five European leagues.
  • Scored in all six club tournaments in , as Barcelona won five of them.
Past Ballon d’Or winners
: 2008:
2013: 2007: Kaka
2012: 2006: Fabio Cannavaro
2011: 2005: Ronaldinho
2010: 2004: Ronaldinho
2009: 2003: Zinedine Zidane

Leave a Comment