Six Ekiti APC lawmakers defect to PDP as Fayose takes over


Governor Ayodele

Six members of the All Progressives Congress, , in the House of Assembly defected to the Peoples Democratic Party, , Thursday just as the governor, Kayode Fayemi was leaving office.

They are Adeojo Ayodele ( South West II Constituency), Olowo Ajiboye (Oye II), Adeloye Adeyinka (Ikole I), Abeni Olayinka (Ado II), Fatunba Olajide (Moba II), and Olugbemi Joseph (Ikole II).

Until now, the had 25 of 26 members in the House while had only one.

Mr. Fayemi, who is also a member of the , left office following the expiration of his four-year tenure.


The defection of the lawmakers, who were called to the podium, was announced as the new governor, Ayo was being sworn in.

In his inaugural speech, the new governor said the was dead and buried in State.

Mr. governed the state between 2003 and 2006 on the platform of the , which then dominated the House of Assembly.


Leave a Comment