OFFICIAL NAIJA TOP TEN: Awilo Makes Long Awaited Comeback!


…As Endia Gives Away Glasses From “48”


Yaya likwame ya bele yaye  ouuu/Kunda tumbukila mulangwe ya a ye e”


Superstar Congolese music exponent Awilo Longomba immortalized these lyrics across Africa and beyond in the late 90s and early 2000s as Makossa and Soukouss music took Nigeria by storm. Following a long break from Nigerian music charts stretching back over a decade, he finally makes a comeback on this week’s MTV Base Official Naija Top Ten, coming in at number eight with“Enemy Solo” featuring P-Square.


This week’s episode of the countdown, hosted by rising star Endia sees three tracks make their debut as Sean Tizzle’s “Bottles”, DJ Xclusive’s Tonight”  and MI’s “Monkey” all drop off the chart. In the course of the show, Endia, who also performs a ragga freestyle, announces a giveaway of the pair of glasses he wore in the video of his breakout 2012 hit ‘48”. These glasses, he reveals, are very close to his heart but his fans are closer.


Elsewhere on the chart, last week’s top four remain unchanged as Patoranking’s “Daniella Whine”, Mavins’ “Looku Looku”, Sheyi Shay’s “Janigilova” and Phyno’s “Oringo” hold down number one to four in that order. “Shuperu Remix” by Orezi featuring Davido is the week’s highest debut track at number five, while “If I Fall” by Praiz debuts at number ten.


“Gbagam” by Timaya featuring Phyno and Deettii drops down two spots to number 9, while Cynthia Morgan’s “Come And Do” rises three spots to number seven.


See the full chart below.


10- If I fall by Praiz

9- Gbagam by Timaya ft Phyno & Deettii

8- Enemy Solo by Awilo ft P Square

7- Come and Do by Cynthia Morgan

6- Soke by Burna Boy

5- Shuperu Remix by Orezi ft. Davido

4- Oringo by Phyno

3- Jangilova by Seyi Shay

2- Looku looku by Mavins

1- Daniella Whine by Patoranking


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.