Glo-CAF African Footballer Of The Year: Mikel Makes Top-10 Shortlist

The Confederation of African Football on Sunday announced the list of the top-ten nominees for the African Player of the Year Award with Nigeria’s Mikel Obi making the list.
Nigerian players: Mikel, John Utaka and Victor Moses were shortlisted in the initial list of 34 players released last month by CAF before the nummber was pruned down.
The African body also on Sunday released the names of the five players remaining in the run for Africa-based Player of the Year.
The statement from Cairo explained that the CAF’s Technical, Football and Media Committees decided on the current shortlists which will now be passed on to head coaches of each of the African countries and technical directors from CAF member associations whose votes will decide the eventual winners.
The confederation will announce the top three in the last week of November while the winners will be unveiled at a ceremony to be held December 20 in the Ghanaian capital Accra.
Ivorian Yaya Toure was voted the 2011 African Player of the Year while Tunisian Oussam Darragi was crowned last year’s African Player of the Year-Based in Africa.
Mikel has continued to have a fine run in London where he plies his trade with Chelsea but he hasn’t been able to replicate his club success at national level.
Top Ten Players List

  1. Alexander Song (Camerron)
  2. Andre Ayew (Ghana)
  3. Christopher Katongo (Zambia)
  4. Demba Ba (Senegal)
  5. Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire)
  6. Gervais Lombe Yao Kouassi (Cote d’Ivoire)
  7. John Obi Mikel (Nigeria)
  8. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
  9. Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire)
  10. Younes Belhanda (Morocco)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.