Five nations to contribute troops against Boko Haram


Nigeria, Republic of Benin, Cameroon, Niger and Chad will contribute one battalion of troops each to the international force set up to combat Boko Haram and other insurgent groups.


The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Dr Reuben Abati, made this known when he briefed newsmen in Abuja on Tuesday.


Abati spoke on more measures taken to strengthen fight against terrorism in the sub-region. He said the decision to contribute the additional five battalion of troops to the international force was reached at the regional Summit on Security held in Paris, France, last Saturday.

It will be recalled the summit was convened by President Francois Hollande of France to fashion ways to deal with the Boko Haram terrorist group.

Abati said France, United States of America and the United Kingdom would extend technical assistance to assist the international force set up to patrol the five nations’ border areas.

“Nigeria and other countries in the sub-region will continue to cooperate and coordinate efforts to combat the Boko Haram menace. The countries will come together to put in place an effective border management regime.

“No effort will be spared to stop the proliferation of small arms and light weapons and the supply of arms and equipment made available to terrorists,’’ he said.

Abati noted that Jonathan considered the measures very useful aspects of the concerted international effort to combat terrorism and put an end to the Boko Haram menace.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here