CAF Rolls Out Shortlist for the 2013 African Player of the Year Prize



The Confederation of African Football (CAF), on Friday, released the lists of candidates for the 2013 African Player of the Year and African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) awards.

Twenty-five players have been shortlisted for the flagship African Player of the Year category while 21 players based in the continent slugs it out for the domestic category.

Sunday Mba, scorer of Nigeria’s winning goal in the 2013 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) and Mohamed Aboutrika, who led Egyptian champions Al-Ahly to the 2013 Caf Champions League triumph, got double nominations each, both in line for the two awards.

Ivoirian Yaya Toure is the reigning AfricanPlayer of the Year and Aboutrika for the African player of the Year (Based in Africa).

The winners will be announced at a Glo-CAF Awards Gala billed for Lagos, Nigeria, on Thursday, January 9, 2014.

The Nominees:

African Player of the Year

Name Country Club

Ahmed Musa Nigeria CSKA Moscow

Asamoah Gyan Ghana Al Ain

Dame N’Doye Senegal Locomotiv Moscow

Didier Drogba Cote d’Ivoire Galatasaray

Emmanuel Emenike Nigeria Fenerbahce

Islam Slimani Algeria Sporting Lisbon

John Mikel Obi Nigeria Chelsea

Jonathan Pitroipa Burkina Faso Stade Rennais

Kévin Constant Guinea AC Milan

Kwadwo Asamoah Ghana Juventus

Luís Carlos Almada Soares – (Platini) Cape Verde AC Omonia

Mehdi Benattia Morocco AS Roma

Mohamed Aboutrika Egypt Al Ahly

Mohamed Salah Egypt Basel FC

Nicolas Nkoulou Cameroon Marseille

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Gabon Borussia Dortmund,

Ryan Isaac Mendes da Graça Cape Verde Lille

Saladin Said Ethiopia Wadi Degla FC

Seydou Keita Mali Dalian Aerbin F.C

Sofiane Feghouli Algeria Valencia

Sunday Mba Nigeria Warri Wolves

Victor Wanyama Kenya Southampton FC

Vincent Enyeama Nigeria Lille

Yao Kouassi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ Cote d’Ivoire AS Roma

Yaya Toure Cote d’Ivoire Manchester City

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Name Country Club

Adane Girma Ethiopia St George

Ahmed Fathi Egypt Al Ahly

Alexis Yougouda Kada Cameroon Coton Sport

Ali Machani Tunisia CAB

Bapidi Fils Jean Jules Cameroon Coton Sport

Daine Marcelle-Klate South Africa Orlando Pirates

Fakhreddine Ben Youssef Tunisia CSS

Getaneh Kebede Ethiopia Bidvest Wits

Idrissa Kouyate Cote d’Ivoire CS Sfaxien

Iheb Msakni Tunisia Esperance

Luyanda Lennox Bacela South Africa Orlando Pirates

Mbwana Samatta Tanzania TP Mazembe

Moez Ben Cherifia Tunisia EST

Mohamed Aboutrika Egypt Ahly

Rainford Kalaba Zambia TP Mazembe

Senzo Meyiwa South Africa Orlando Pirates

Soumbeila Diakite Mali Stade Malien

Sunday Mba Nigeria Warri Wolves

Tresor Mputu DR Congo TP Mazembe

Waleed Soliman Egypt Al Ahly

Yannick N’djeng Cameroon EST

About Toslaw 34221 Articles
Oluwafemi Toslaw -Webmaster, Young Media Entrepreneur, Blogger and Founder NaijaOlofofo Media

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.